Don’t be a dummy! Make a dummy book

I had so much fun of making a photo book dummy.

Project I decided to use was my street life “Reflections”.

I did struggle with idea for  street life project at the beginning.I couldn’t find my place at the street. After first tutorial  all of my previous ideas ware shaped away by my tutor,as I thought reflections will be popular one I didn’t want to do it. I kind of try to forget about it as thought that will be “taken” I was very surprise when my tutor gave me green light. I did had a good time making that project.I did prototype of my dummy book and submitted with one of previous Unit 4, but that one is nothing special just simple paper and photos.

I did project last year  about “London today” and my project was a “Reflections” around London.I did print Photobook from that project with  Blurb you can buy it on Amazon ;).This time instead famous landmarks I did photographed people.Still I think they complemented each other like is book part 1 and part 2.

In both of my dummy books I did use acetate to print my images on. I did like idea to use transparency with mirror type of subject place with them.

First one, print onto acetate and mirror card behind each image. Together the made very playful book as they reflecting and distorting image depend how you open it.On the front cover I did made stencil cut out letters and use metallic spray to make title.

Second one was  bigger challenge, again I did use acetate to print my image onto,but this time i did spray metallic spray at the back of it.I did acordeon  type of book to keep that playful fell to it.Each image is been stick to the page by photo corners stickers to give me flexibility to change around  the order they appear in the book, it is a dummy book after all.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to print this book professionally as this kind of book doesn’t fit in usual standards…

Leave a comment